The European Platform for Photodynamic Medicine (EPPM) is an organization for the promotion of Photodiagnosis and Photodynamic Therapy.

A brief description of what is photodiagnosis and photodynamic therapy can be found here.

The EPPM is rapidly collecting resources to further meet its aim and objectives of promoting photodiagnosis and photodynamic therapy in Europe, if you want to be part of the EPPM please join here. If you wish to donate resources to the EPPM please click here.

The EPPM was founded in June 2007 with the primary objective of bringing together scientists and clinicians for the furtherance of photodynamic medicine. The current EPPM Board members can be found here.

The organization has been growing steadily since its inception. The seeds of the EPPM were sown in September 2006 in Geneva, not far from the lake of Geneva and its famous landmark le Jet d’eau. After a few months gestation period, the EPPM was officially formed and in March 2008, the first meeting of the newly formed European Platform for Photodynamic Medicine was hosted at the Dubrovnik Palace Hotel, Croatia (see Past Congresses). This proved to be a beautiful and highly popular venue, attracting delegates from all over Europe and around the world, including China, Russia and the US. The founding members of the EPPM were a mixed group of clinicians, photobiologists, physicists and representatives of industry concerned with photosensitisers and PDT devices.

In this original group, there were seven clinicians, five photo-biologists/photo-chemists, and four representatives of industry.

CliniciansColin Hopper (UK), Patrice Jichlinski (CH), Herwig Kostron (AU), Thiery Patrice (FR), Keyvan Moghissi (UK) and Aleksander Seiron (PL)

PhotobiologistsGiulio Jori (IT), Heinrich Walt (CH), Yoram Soloman (IS), Hrvoje Zorc (HR) and David Russell (UK)

Industry RepresentativesDidier Boucher (FR-Axcan Pharma), Winrich Raushning (DE –Biolitec), Bjorn Klem NO- Photocure) and Diego Provvidini (IT-Negma).

The current EPPM Board members can be found here (Contact Us). EPPM is affiliated with the journal Photodiagnosis and Photodynamic Therapy. Members of EPPM receive a discount subscription rate of this journal.

The EPPM is a private Limited Company registered in England [Company number 6289572].

To join the EPPM click here applyfor membership

To renew your membershiprenewmembership


Leave a Reply